DASH project AIProHealth
AIProHealth AIProHealth (Practical Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare Professionals) aims to contribute to the implementation of AI in healthcare in the near future
AIProHealth (Practical Artificial Intelligence for Healthcare Professionals) aims to contribute to the implementation of AI in healthcare in the near future
There is still a lot of resistance to AI. For some 'AI' is feared as a threat of taking over human interaction. In this context, the AIProHealth project brought together experts from all areas and sectors (public and private) of healthcare and the serious gaming communities to co-create a unique program to put the hype of AI in perspective, while removing the fear of use of AI in healthcare practice.

Within the AIProHealth project, experts are developing a customizable AI teaching environment containing a massive open online course (MOOC) and a Face2Face course with as most important aspect a serious game. The total package provides an innovative blended learning experience which enlightens the healthcare professional with valuable information, while considering the patient’s perspective.

Massive Open Online Course (MOOC)

The MOOC is a free course that has been launched on FutureLearn and provides a first insight into the many aspects of AI in healthcare. Throughout this course, you learn more about the technical background and the potential of AI in healthcare, while also discussing the limitations such as ethical and legal issues. The course helps to build your knowledge and confidence in key areas of AI in healthcare and prepares you for implementing it into your own workflow.

Do you want to explore how AI can be used to improve patient care and gain more insight into the implementation of AI in the health professions?

Subscribe now and start your AI-journey

Serious game/Face2Face course

The Face2Face course and serious game focus on the actual implementation of AI in healthcare practice. The focus of the training will be on the patient’s journey, highlighting specific phases such as pre-care and diagnosis, as AI could play a major role in this in the near future.

The most important aspect of this course will be the serious game, which has already been developed and published. Players of the game are a group of advisors to the AI hospital that need to assist fictional healthcare professionals by making choices about the implementation of AI throughout a particular patient journey. The game stimulates discussion between players and helps them to apply the theoretical knowledge they obtained in the MOOC in a practical situation.

Serious game AI

Relevance

Partners of AIProHealth

The UMCG is collaborating on this online learning environment with various EIT Health associated partners and multiple companies.

This group of partners covers the entire knowledge triangle, with representatives from education, research and industry. This will assure the best expertise and knowledge in the development of the courses.

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    UMC Groningen
    Data Science Center in Health



    Contact persons:
    Peter van Ooijen: p.m.a.van.ooijen@umcg.nl
    Sara Roscioni: s.s.roscioni@umcg.nl
    UMC Staf EIT-programma: eit@umcg.nl
    Freek van der Spoel: f.h.van.der.spoel@umcg.nl
    Rosie Jordanova: r.t.jordanova@umcg.nl

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum and MOOC of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, dissemination (via Futurelearn), technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University of Groningen

    Contact persons:
    Tom Spits: t.spits@rug.nl
    Z. Kubinova: z.kubinova@rug.nl

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University Hospital Cologne

    Contact persons:
    Daniel Pinto dos Santos: daniel.pinto-dos-santos@uk-koeln.de
    Sarah Denzel: sarah.denzel@uk-koeln.de

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University of Tartu

    Contact persons:
    Elena Sugis: elena.sugis@ut.ee
    Jaak Vilo: vilo@ut.ee
    Raivo Kolde: raivo.kolde@ut.ee
    Eveli Kuuse: eveli.kuuse@ut.ee
    Kadi Erik: kadi.erik@ut.ee

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University of Copenhagen&

    Contact persons:
    Morten Scheibye-Knudsen: mscheibye@sund.ku.dk
    Camilla Krogh Christensen: camilla.krogh@sund.ku.dk

  • Expertise:
    The serious game of AIProHealth will be developed together with the company 8D Games. 8D Games develops serious games and gamifications for healthcare, education, government and business, among others.

    8D Games

    Contact persons:
    Maarten Stevens: maarten@8d-games.nl
    Bas Altenburg: bas@8d-games.nl

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI, AI case examples/ and new innovation.

    OneVision Healthcare

    Contact persons:
    Stefan Phillips: sph@onevision-healthcare.com

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation.

    ArtiQ

    Contact persons:
    Marko Topalovic: marko.topalovic@artiq.eu

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation.

    Mediaire

    Contact persons:
    Jens Opalka: j.opalka@mediaire.de

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation.

    Algomedica

  • Expertise:
    HP and alumni recruitment, dissemination

    Invivox

    Contact persons:
    Julien Delpech: jdelpech@invivox.com

  • Several organisations throughout Europe have expressed an interest in collaborating on the AIProHealth project. This list of partners will therefore be expanded even further.

Contact

Peter van Ooijen
Peter van Ooijen Associate professor of radiation oncology and Machine Learning Lab Coordinator at the Data Science Center in Health (DASH)
Rosa Verhoeven PhD Candidate Pediatric Surgery and Neonatology and Chair of the Machine Learning Lab Board at DASH